My book reviews

Review – Catch Me if you Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

Posted · Add Comment

I do love a Lisa Dickenson novel so when asked if I’d like to read and review Catch Me if you Cannes as part of the blog tour, I was over the moon and didn’t hesitate to say yes!

As soon as I opened the first page of the book, after staring at the fabulous cover for a while, and I devoured just the first few words, I felt as if I was there, on this trip to the South of France with Jess and Bryony.  I could picture every moment of the holiday and their escapades, and Lisa’s descriptions brought the whole book to life beautifully.

I particularly loved the trip to Monte Carlo which reminded me of a trip there in 2007 with one of my friends and brought back some lovely memories of an amazing place and Cannes is a place that has firmly gone back on my PLACES I MUST VISIT list.

Lisa is such a funny writer, clever, witty and topical.  I love her sense of humour and having met her in person, know that she is a hoot and this comes across so much in her writing.

Jess and Bryony, I absolutely LOVED! Both of them are people that I would love to spend time with, have a night out with, or be on a holiday with.  I loved their easy friendship, the fact that they just wanted the best for each other, and stuck by each other through thick and thin.  I’d quite like their friendship duo to become a trio with me as the third member.

Now what can I say about Leo! OMG! What can I say about Leo? Adorable, gorgeous, funny, cheeky! I think Lisa crept into my mind and found my perfect man!  How do you writers manage to do that?

And next year I think I definitely need to go to the Cannes Film Festival! But it wouldn’t be the same without my new BFFs Jess and Bryony!

A fantabulously entertaining, feel good read which put a big fat grin on my face and made my heart skip many a time (particularly in the epilogue!)

About the book: 

Romantic, funny and full of Cannes film festival magic, Catch Me If You Cannes is the story of two friends, a few white lies and one very sticky situation . . . Perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Paige Toon and Mhairi McFarlane.

Jess has decided it’s time to get out of her comfort zone and live a little. So when her best friend Bryony, a journalist on a gossip magazine, is sent to cover the Cannes Film Festival, Jess decides to seize the day and go along for the ride. Two weeks of sun, glamour and exclusive entry into celeb-filled parties is just the kind of adventure Jess needs.

Reality soon bites though when Jess and Bryony find they’re staying in a dingy hotel far away from all the action and Bryony’s expenses budget barely covers a glass of local wine. Undeterred, the two women are determined to live like the elite and enjoy one fancy night out to begin their holiday. So what if they have to tell a few white lies along the way? It’s just this once. No harm done . . . right?

About the author:

Lisa Dickenson is the pseudonym for Beyoncé. OK, FINE, THAT’S NOT TRUE.

Lisa lives by the Devon seaside, stuffing cream teas in the gobs of anyone who comes to visit, and writing stuff down that she hopes is funny. Her first novel was the copyright-infringing Sweet Valley Twins: The Twins Holiday Horror, which she wrote in primary school and gave up on after five pages. Twenty-ish years later Lisa went on to be a *real author* and wrote the Novelicious Debut of the Year, The Twelve Dates of Christmas.

Other titles by Lisa Dickenson:

You Had Me at Merlot

Mistletoe on 34th Street

Please share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *